BCA  – its full form is Bachelor’s in Computer Application. BCA course is a 3-year UG (Under Graduate) course that imparts knowledge on the basics of computer application and software development. BCA includes subjects like database management systems, Software Engineering, Operating Systems, Web Technology and Computer Languages such as HTML, C, C++, and Java Etc.

BCA Admission is granted through merit-based and entrance exam-based admission processes. The minimum BCA eligibility criteria followed across all Top BCA Colleges is 50% marks in 10+2 or equivalent examination with computer application/computer science as an additional or core subject.  BCA Course Fees range between INR 80,000 to INR 3, 00,000 in private colleges and INR 20,000 to INR 80,000 in Government colleges.

Jobs after BCA include job roles like Software Developer, System Analyst, Web Designer, etc. BCA Salary starts with INR 3, 00,000 to INR 5, 00,000. With experience, a BCA salary may reach INR 14, 00,000 to INR 15, 00,000. 

Eligibility Criteria for BCA

The basic eligibility criteria for the BCA admission process are mentioned below:

  • The student must have an aggregate of 50% or above in Class 12 in any stream (Arts, Science, Commerce) with English and Mathematics as a compulsory subjects.
  • There are certain colleges that grant admission to students who have completed class 12 without Maths and English as compulsory subjects.
  • The minimum age to join the BCA course is 18 years, but this is not compulsory in all colleges. There is no upper age limit for BCA Admission.


Master of Computer Applications (MCA) is a two-year professional post-graduate program for candidates wanting an in-depth understanding of the world of computer application development with the help of learning modern programming languages. The program is a blend of both theoretical and practical knowledge. An MCA degree endows students’ with an opportunity to work with tools meant to develop better and faster applications which are a requirement in the current world of tech-based society. It is a PG course that educates students about different computer programs, application software, computer architecture, operating systems, etc. Firstly, the MCA course can be pursued in regular full-time, online, and Distance education mode. Secondly, you can take admitted to this course on a merit basis or based on the score obtained in the entrance examination.

Eligibility Criteria for MCA

According to AICTE, in order to pursue an MCA course, candidates must have completed a BCA/ BSc/ B Com/ BA degree with Mathematics as one of the subjects at the 10+2 level or at graduation.

However, MCA colleges in India might ask you to fulfill the following as well:

  • Minimum marks required: 50% to 60% (a CGPA above 6/10 is considered good) in Bachelor’s; 55% and above in Class 12th.
  • The different fields of specialization covered under MCA are as follows;
  • Systems Management.
  • Management Information Systems (MIS)
  • Systems Development.
  • Systems Engineering.
  • Networking.
  • Internet working.
  • Application Software.
  • Software Development.